• Page 1 of 1
Forum » General Board » Web Development » Illustrator & Photoshop CS5 Review
Illustrator & Photoshop CS5 Review
HeinZawHtetDate: Friday, 2011-01-07, 12:09 PM | Message # 1
Private
Group: Administrators
Awards: 0

Illustrator & Photoshop CS5 Review

Did you know that Adobe Photoshop is 20 years old and Illustrator has been around over 24 years? I’ve been using Photoshop since version 5 and Illustrator since version 8. It is amazing to see how they are progressively improving and adding more features. Now with vector features and 3D tools, Photoshop is no longer just an image editing tool. The same goes with Illustrator, Bristle Brushes were added to simulate bitmap drawing. I’ve been using CS5 for several months so in this post, I’m going to share my thoughts on CS5.

Photoshop CS5

Content Aware Fill

First, let’s talk about the most discussed new feature - Content Aware Fill. It is indeed a new magical tool. It allows you to quickly remove objects in the image. Back then, you would have to do a lot of cloning and brushing. Now with Photoshop CS5, just create a selection of the object that you want to remove, go to Edit > Fill, select Content-Aware, and it will do the magic for you.

content aware fill

However, the result may vary depending on your source image and how you apply the Content Aware Fill. Because it automatically fill the selection base the content around the selection, it works on certain circumstances but not all. Sometimes you may have to do some manual touchups.

content aware fill

Puppet Warp

I think most of you may probably heard about or seen the Puppet Warp. It works very much like the Warp transform (Edit > Transform > Warp) but even better because it allows you to set points and then warp them. This tool is great for tweaking or straightening objects.

puppet warp

Mixer Brush & Bristle Presets